Undergraduate New Venture Competition

The Undergraduate New Venture Plan Competition was founded in 2005. This annual competition is open to undergraduate students from across the University of Cincinnati enrolled in ENTR 5070: New Venture Planning. Entrants participate in an elevator pitch contest, new venture plan presentation contest and submit a complete written business plan, which draws upon their learning in all functional disciplines. Work is adjudicated using world-renowned Venture Labs Investment Competition (formerly Moot Corp) Business Plan Competition criteria.

Previous winners


Adam Gates, Molly Hinken, Jack Johnson and Spencer Keith for their website platform idea that links skilled workers with manufacturing companies seeking skilled labor, "Skillfinders.com"


Paige Bausch, Derek Bishop, Ryan Fine, Chelsea Hicks, and Ryann Syvertsen for their customized music greeting app for celebrating all special occasions, "Send-a-Song"


Aziza Isa for her web and mobile based agent-talent connection application, "Virtual Talent"


Bob Cordiak, Chris Mayl, Allene Pinder, Allison Stepaniak, Danielle Treft for their smartphone application, "ParkHere", which houses a database of parking options in Cincinnati.


Brad Lorenz, Jake McDonald, Adrienne Spuzillo, and Emily Van Treeck for their novel agency concept, "Impact Commercial Real Estate"


Nick Bachus, Brien Dulle, Anthony Voveris, for their venture "Cincinnatus Capital Management" This team went on to win top three in the final year of the NKU Reality Check Business Plan Competition.


Stephanie Albers, Breeana Dixon, Rosalie Giesel, and Krista Streckfuss for their tech product accessory company "Tek Tak" This team went on to win top three at the NKU Reality Check Business Plan Competition.


Sam Birchenough, Jennifer Hacker and Keith Weller for their "Expediant Car Detailing" venture.


Christopher Direnzi and Joshua Rudd for their geothermal equipment installation and leasing concept "Midwest Geothermal." First runner-up was team "Book-A-Bike" who went on to win first at the NKU Reality Check Business Plan Competition. Team members included Neil Black, Alex Bey, and Charles Rinehart.


Jordan Brewer, Daniel Cremons, Anthony Fedele and Gregory Lutz for their campus catering service concept "The Food Truck"


Alan Eccard, Dustin Grutza and John Speiser for their cell phone docking station commercialization concept "JAG Technologies"


Derek Brown, Jeff Brawand, John Martini and Ryan Griffith for their coffee grounds fertilizer start-up "Javasoil"


Adam Bothwell, Ben Courtier and Josh Utter for their mobile IT support venture "Tech-2-Go"