Carl H. Lindner College of BusinessCarl H. Lindner College of BusinessUniversity of Cincinnati

Carl H. Lindner College of Business

SCORE Renames Award After UC Business Professor

Monday, December 19, 2016 6:30 PM
Chuck Matthews commended for 30-year case competition partnership.
Professor Charles Matthews

Professor Charles Matthews, holding award

UC Professor Charles Matthews was recognized for his 30-year association with SCORE, the volunteer arm of the Small Business Administration.

Matthews, executive director of the Center for Entrepreneurship Education & Research at the UC Carl H. Lindner College of Business, was awarded a special SCORE award in October for his enduring participation and support.  For his longstanding partnership, the SCORE organization renamed the 2012 Cecil B. Boatwright award after him. Students who now compete in the business plan competition will be awarded the Dr. Charles H. Matthews Best Field Case Award.

Meanwhile, SCORE selected 26 Lindner College of Business students as first-, second- and third-place winners of the annual case competition.  SCORE helps fund the competition that unites students and Lindner College of Business faculty for 10 weeks to develop a comprehensive business plan for area businesses.

The 2012 Cecil Boatwright Awardees (named after the late Cecil Boatwright, manager of the Small Business Administration, Cincinnati branch) include graduate and undergraduate winners. Winners received a certificate, plaque and one year’s free tuition to all Cincinnati SCORE seminars, a $2,000 value for each student if he or she attended all 45 SCORE seminars.

Graduate winners are: 

            First place: Alan Hagerty, David Hertlein, Nick LaGuardia and Doug Klekamp. The group prepared a plan to address market expansion, product/service development, and internal infrastructure and operations controls for MidCom-Tel, a local telecommunications management company.

            Second place: Carl Miller, Daniel Niergarth, Jordan Schlater, Juliet Christensen and Tyler Waddle. The group researched the rebranding and cost-efficiency measures of the 143-old local National Flag Company.   

            Third place:  Katie Action, Andrew Beggs, Erica Stauffer, Steven Stein and Varsha Vittal. The team assessed the mission, objectives, operating procedures and training materials for Village Life Outreach, a local non-profit organization that provides health care and education initiatives in Tanzania.

Undergraduate winners are:

            First place: Mike Buettner, Matt Mino, Luca Romeo and Bradley Rossi. The team developed a plan for Ripple, a retail store selling art pieces from Africa.

            Second place: Jeffrey Beamon, Danielle Borman,  Nicholas Miller and Meghan Yost. The group developed a strategic plan for the local chapter of a national nonprofit Freedoms Foundation of Valley Forge.

            Third place: Michael Arnovitz, Teddy Douglass, Nicholas Radel and Leland Zerbe. The group researched and developed proposals for an Internet start-up.