International Experiences & Study Abroad

Economics students and faculty pose with Woodrow Uible and Daniel Kautz in front of the Taj Mahal

The Kautz-Uible Economics Institute supports multiple educational trips each year for undergraduate and graduate students.

Each spring, undergraduate students travel to a center of economic activities such as New York City, Chicago, or Washington, D. C., and visit headquarters of major corporations and international organizations, as well as Federal Reserves and Stock Exchanges. All members of the Economics Society are eligible to participate. All expenses are paid for by the Kautz-Uible Economics Institute.

Each summer, graduate students travel to Norway to participate in the Graduate Summer School at the Norwegian School of Economics. The students learn about Environmental and Resource Economics and visit major Norwegian corporations. The Kautz-Uible Economics Institute pays for a substantial portion of the expenses.

Each spring, undergraduate and graduate students participate in the National Association of Business Economists (NABE) annual conference in Washington, D.C. All travel expenses are paid for by the Kautz-Uible Economics Institute.

Each winter, students participate in a study abroad program in India. A substantial portion of the expenses are paid for by the Kautz-Uible Economics Institute. Learn more about the India trip by visiting the students' blog.

International trips

India, 2019

  • Garrett Ainsworth
  • Claire Binford
  • Molly Bonino
  • Jacob Craig
  • David Jacques
  • Abigail Klare
  • Claire Koontz
  • Ben Leonardi
  • Cassidy Peebles
  • Derek Scoggin
  • Khoa Tran
  • Clayton Warren

India, 2017

  • Amy Crooks
  • Svetlana Galvez
  • Ankit Kansal
  • Noah Katz
  • Jacob Miller
  • Gabby Swonger
  • Matt Vorndran

Norwegian School of Economics

2017-2018: Dan Angus, Hannah Becker, Katelyn Chamarro, Megan Heare, Philippe Oniate, Paul Rodriguez, Lindsey Sheakley, and Luke Smith
2016-2017: Eric Bosse, Kiran Ghadiali, Bret Gitar, Dan Hedin, Josh Krahenbuhl and Dung Phuong Tran
2015-2016: Kevin Bittner, Shae Brennan, Bryce Collins and Chloe Newmann
2014-2015: Dinushki DeLivera, Shaye Kurdziel, Dan Russ, Huibin Weng and Elizabeth Wylie
2013-2014: Chris Randall
2012-2013: Luke Fuller and Michael Zola
2011-2012: Eric Hickman and Jon McCarthy
2010-2011: Erich Voss, Lawrence Emembolu, Kseniya Slynko, Yinqiao Fan and Zach Koons
2009-2010: Yan Li, Saurabh Niraula, Alex Boerger, Susan Kayser and Nick Puncer

Domestic Kautz-Uible trips

Chicago: 2018-2019, 2013-2014, 2011-2012, 2009-2010.
Washington, D.C.: 2017-2018, 2015-2016, 2010-2011.
New York City: 2016-2017, 2014-2015, 2012-2013.